Texas Noncommissioned Security Officer License (Level II)
Go to the official page ↗Direct official link
What you'll learn
You complete the six hour Level II course approved by the Texas Private Security Program, learning officer duties, Texas law on use of force and arrest, conflict resolution, report writing and emergency response before applying to DPS.
- Roles and responsibilities of security officers
- Legal aspects including Penal Code use of force
- Security communications and written reports
- Verbal conflict resolution
- Response to emergencies and safety hazards
Source: the provider's official page ↗
Is this right for you?
- Level
- Beginner People new to this. You can start today with no experience.
- What you get
- Hands on skills you can use right away. No certificate, so the proof is what you do with it.
- How you learn
- Online, self paced.
- How to use it
- Turn it into proof: use the skill on one real task at work, put the result on your résumé, and lead with that story in interviews.
- Why it's worth it
- Required to work in this field where it applies, and the first thing employers check. Get it and every door in the field opens.
What you will pay$37Upfront cost. Full details below.
- Time
- Level II course length not stated on reviewed DPS pages
- Before you start
- Level II training certificate submitted with application; fingerprints; employment by a licensed guard company.
- How you are tested
- Level II course through licensed Level III/IV schools or licensed guard companies
- Renewal
- License expires two years after issuance; renewal available 180 days before expiration.
- Full cost details
- $37 license ($30 + $5 pocket card + $2 subscription) and $28.25 FBI fingerprint check per DPS fee schedule (rev. 09/03/2019); Level II course price set by schools
- Where it applies
- Texas only
Jobs asking for this
See live job postings that mention Texas Noncommissioned Security Officer License.
Open to work?Join the free Open to Work list so hirers looking for this credential can find you. No phone number needed.
Join the listChecked at the source Oct 12, 2026
Sources and what we verified
DPS individual license FAQ: Level II certificate required; two year term ↗DPS fee schedule rev. 09/03/2019 ↗DPS training and CE page: who may deliver Level II ↗What we verified: Fee schedule is dated 2019 and may be outdated. Level II course hours were not stated on the reviewed DPS pages, so no hour figure is given.
Fees and eligibility can change. Confirm current terms with the issuer before you pay.
Also listed for: AI for Security Officers