Certified Associate in Healthcare Information and Management Systems (CAHIMS)
From HIMSS
Go to the official page ↗Direct official link
What you'll learn
You build a foundation in health IT, learning how healthcare and technology environments fit together, how clinical informatics works, and how health systems are analyzed, designed, selected, tested and kept private and secure.
- Healthcare and technology environments
- Clinical informatics
- Healthcare information and systems management
- Privacy and security
- Management and leadership
Source: the provider's official page ↗
Is this right for you?
- Level
- Intermediate People with some experience who want to go further or prove what they know.
- What you get
- A certification employers can verify, made for the top of your résumé and your LinkedIn profile.
- How you learn
- Online, self paced, about 2 hrs.
- How to use it
- Put it at the top of your résumé and under Licenses and certifications on LinkedIn, with the verification link so hirers can confirm it in seconds. Name it in every application that uses this skill, and send it straight to recruiters and hiring managers.
- Why it's worth it
- The Indian Health Service names it among the professional credentials for its health information management staff. Source ↗
What you will pay$419 and upUpfront cost. Full details below.Renewal costs money too. See Renewal below.
- Time
- Exam 2 hours.
- Before you start
- One of: final stages of an approved health informatics CTE program; high school diploma plus 45 hours relevant CE or 150 hours IT and healthcare experience; or a degree plus 25 hours relevant CE or 75 hours IT and healthcare experience.
- How you are tested
- Proctored exam, 115 multiple choice questions (100 scored); delivery options not stated on the CAHIMS page.
- Renewal
- Valid 3 years; 45 CE hours (25 from HIMSS or HIMSS approved providers, 2 in ethics) plus renewal fee, or retake the exam.
- Full cost details
- Exam $419 HIMSS member (member, corporate or student member) / $459 nonmember. Renewal $209 member / $349 nonmember every 3 years.
- Where it applies
- International; widely used in US healthcare IT.
Jobs asking for this
See live job postings that mention CAHIMS.
Open to work?Join the free Open to Work list so hirers looking for this credential can find you. No phone number needed.
Join the listChecked at the source Oct 13, 2026
Sources and what we verified
HIMSS CAHIMS page: fees, eligibility, format, renewal fee ↗HIMSS recertification: 45 CEs ↗What we verified: Delivery method not stated on the CAHIMS page (CPHIMS page lists Pearson VUE and online proctoring).
Fees and eligibility can change. Confirm current terms with the issuer before you pay.
Also listed for: AI in Healthcare, AI for Healthcare Administration