✓Trusted AI Courses
License or requirementCalifornia onlyNo experience needed

California Security Guard Registration (Guard Card)

From California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services

Go to the official page ↗Direct official link

What you'll learn

This California registration lets you work as a security guard. You complete Power to Arrest training first, then 32 hours of security officer skills training within six months, then 8 hours of continuing training every year.

  • Power to Arrest training
  • 32 hours of security officer skills training
  • 8 hours of annual continuing training
  • Optional tear gas and baton permits

Source: the provider's official page ↗

Is this right for you?

Level
Beginner People new to this. You can start today with no experience.
What you get
Hands on skills you can use right away. No certificate, so the proof is what you do with it.
How you learn
Online, self paced, about 16 hrs.
How to use it
Turn it into proof: use the skill on one real task at work, put the result on your résumé, and lead with that story in interviews.
Why it's worth it
Required to work in this field where it applies, and the first thing employers check. Get it and every door in the field opens.
What you will pay$60Upfront cost. Full details below.
Time
Power to Arrest before issuance; 16 hours of skills training within 30 days of employment; 32 hours within six months; 8 hours continuing training yearly
Before you start
Age 18+; Power to Arrest training before registration issues; Live Scan fingerprints.
How you are tested
BSIS approved training; state registration
Renewal
Renewal required before expiration; 8 hours continuing training each year. Term not stated on reviewed page.
Full cost details
$60 initial application on or after 10/1/2025; renewal $44; delinquent renewal $69; Live Scan DOJ/FBI fees and training tuition extra
Where it applies
California only

Jobs asking for this

See live job postings that mention California Security Guard Registration.

Open to work?Join the free Open to Work list so hirers looking for this credential can find you. No phone number needed.
Join the list
Checked at the source Oct 12, 2026
Sources and what we verifiedBSIS guard registration fact page: training stages, age, renewal ↗BSIS fee schedule (Sept 2025): guard fees after 10/1/2025 ↗

What we verified: Fees from BSIS fee schedule effective 10/1/2025. Registration term not stated on reviewed pages.

Fees and eligibility can change. Confirm current terms with the issuer before you pay.

Also listed for: AI for Security Officers